AAA Home Page | AAA Catalog | Credit Hours | FAQ | Contact | Ordering Information | About AAA LearningTM       Old AAA Learning Pages
Additional Selected Book Only Specials CE Course Credits

CFP, Life/Health and Property/Casualty Course Credits
Book only, disk only and or internet training


State Insurance Requirements Credit Hours
Disclaimer: Course credit hours subject to change without notice, e mail us for exact credit hours for the particular area you are looking for and get an e mail back from us for your files to ensure accuracy in credit hours before taking a course.
Credit hours are estimates, subject to change without notice...check in writing to verify if accurate or pending..otherwise not responsible for inaccurate hours.

Alabama: Agents must complete 12 hours per year effective January 1, 1997. Brokers begin their requirement October 1, 1997. Nonresident agents are exempt if Alabama has a reciprocal agreement with agent's home state and agent has met resident state's CE requirement.
 
Alaska: License renewals after June 30, 1998, must indicate compliance of 24 credit hours.
 
Arkansas: Resident agents must complete 16 hours each biennial renewalperiod. Nonresidents and any person who has held a license as an agent, solicitor, consultant or broker for a period of at least 15 consecutive years are exempt.
 
California: Agents licensed after January 1, 1992, must complete 25 hours annually for four years following original license issue date; 30 hours every biennial license period thereafter. Agents licensed before January 1, 1992, must complete 30 hours every biennial license period. All compliance dates are license anniversary dates. Nonresident agents who complete a continuing education requirement in their resident state are exempt.
 
Colorado: Resident and nonresident agents must complete 24 hours biennially, of which 18 must be studies in which agent is licensed.
 
Delaware: Resident and nonresident agents licensed less than 5 years must complete 20 hours annually; agents licensed 5 years or more must complete 10 hours annually. Annual renewal deadline is February 28. Agents licensed 25 years or more are granted 5 hours. One designation per agent may count as 5 hours. Nonresident agents who complete continuing education in resident state are exempt.
 
Florida: Resident agents must complete 28 hours every 2 years of which 2 hours must be law and regulation studies. Nonresident agents must comply with resident requirement unless Florida has a reciprocal agreement with agent's home state.
 
Georgia: Resident agents licensed less than 20 years complete 15 hours annually; if licensed 20 years or more, agents complete 10 hours annually. Nonresidents are exempt.* Three hours of ethics studies is inclusive of total requirement. Agents with a designation must complete 6 hours annually, of which 3 hours must be studies in ethics.
 
Idaho: Resident agents must complete 40 hours during each 2-year licensing period. CE credit is due the same month in which agent applied for license. Nonresident agents are exempt.
 
Illinois: EffectiveJanuary 1, 1997, all agents must complete 15 hours annually. (Month and day of renewal is same as issue date of license.) Nonresidents are exempt.
 
Indiana: Resident agents must complete 30 hours with eachbiennial renewal, 2 hours of which must be classroom ethics studies. Agents who sell long-term care insurance must complete 5 hours of long-term care studies every 2 years. Nonresident agents are exempt if a continuing education requirement is completed in the agent's resident state.
 
Iowa: Resident agents must complete 30 hours every 3 years. Nonresident agents are exempt if in compliance with home state CE requirement.
 
Kansas: Resident agents must complete 12 hours every 2 years of which 1 hour must be study in ethics for life and health agents and 1 hour due for property and casualty agents. Compliance is due by birthdate of 1997 or 1998 depending on birth year. Non-residents are exempt if home state has an on-going CE requirement and if Kansas has a reciprocal agreement with agent's resident state.
 
Kentucky: Resident agents licensed after June 30, 1988, must complete 24 hours every 2 years, 12 of which must be classroom. Nonresident agents are exempt.
 
Louisiana: Resident agents must complete 16 hours every 2-year licensing period, 8 hours of which must be classroom. Nonresident agents are exempt if Louisiana has a reciprocal agreement with agent's resident state.
 
Maine: Resident agents must complete 30 hours every 2 years. If licensed more than 1 year but less than 2 years, complete 15 hours. Compliance due by October 1 every even-numbered year. Agents licensed less than one year and nonresident agents are exempt.
 
Maryland: Resident agents must complete 16 hours per biennial renewal, 8 of which must be classroom hours. Compliance due June 30 of every odd-numbered year. Agents who sell long-term care insurance must complete 2 hours of long-term care studies (inclusive of 16 hours). Nonresident agents must also meet requirements unless Maryland has a reciprocal agreement with agent's resident state.
 
Massachusetts: Resident and nonresident agents must complete 60 hours in the first 3 years after obtaining a license; 45 hours of study upon license renewal every 3 years. Agents licensed prior to April 5, 1983 are exempt.
 
Michigan: Resident and nonresident agents must complete 30 hours biennially of which 15 hours must relate to agent's license type through December 1, 1996. After December 1, 1996, continuing education becomes voluntary. Contact the Department of Insurance for legislation updates.
 
Minnesota: Nonresident and resident agents must complete 15 hours of classroom study by October 31 of each year. Not more than 7-1/2 of those hours can be company-sponsored. A passing score on a monitored exam leading to a designation will meet the 15-hour requirement.
 
Mississippi: Resident agents must complete 25 hours annually for the first four years of licensure. Annual renewals run on a calendar year. Nonresidents are exempt if Mississippi has a reciprocal agreement with agent's home state. All agents who hold a CLU or LUTC designation are exempt.
 
Missouri: Resident agents must obtain 10 hours each biennial renewal period. Self-study courses are limited to 3 hours per biennium. Nonresidents are exempt if Missouri has a reciprocal agreement with agent's home state.
 
Montana: Agents must complete 10 hours annually. If licensed in P&C and L&H, 15 hours are required each year. Biennially agents must complete 1 hour in Montana law studies. First compliance due 1995. Nonresidents who comply with CE in resident state may be exempt.
 
Nebraska: Resident agents must complete 6 hours per year per line up to 30 hours for each 2-year license period. Effective 1/1/94 an additional 6 hours of studies in ethics is required. Nonresidents are exempt.
 
Nevada: Resident agents must complete 30 hours every 3 years. Agents maintaining a CLU, CIC, CFP, or ChFC designation and some agents with 20 years of experience are exempt Contact the Department of Insurance for further details.
 
New Hampshire: Residents must complete 30 hours of study preceding each biennial license renewal. Agents' and consultants' compliance due April 15. Brokers' compliance due August 15. Variable annuities licensees and nonresidents are exempt.
 
New Jersey: License renewals after May, 1995, require 48 credits of classroom study every 4 year period. Nonresident agents are exempt.
 
New Mexico: Resident agents must complete 15 hours annually by September 30, 1 hour of which must be studies in ethics. Agents licensed 25 years or more are exempt. Nonresidents are exempt if New Mexico has a reciprocal agreement with agent's home state.
 
New York: Agents must complete 8 hours for the first biennium period ending in 1996 or 1997. No study limitation for first compliance period. After first CE biennium, 15 hours are required every 2 years. Correspondence study limited to 50% of requirement.
 
North Carolina: Life and health agents must complete 12 hours each calendar year. The Commissioner may require specific statute and/or medicare study requirements each year. Studies must be within lines of licensure. Nonresident agents may be exempt if agents have met their resident states continuing education requirement.
 
North Dakota: Resident agents must complete 15 hours annually, 7-1/2 of which must be classroom hours. Nonresidents complete 15 classroom or self-study hours. Nonresident requirement may be waived if agent meets resident state requirement with 15 hours of study. Reporting deadline: January 31, odd-numbered years for agents with last names beginning A-K; January 31, even-numbered years, for agents with last names beginning L-Z.
 
Ohio: Agents must complete 30 hours every 2 years. Self-study and insurance company sponsored courses limited to 15 hours every 2 years. Nonresident agents are exempt if Ohio has a reciprocal agreement with agent's home state.
 
Oklahoma: Agents who renew prior to June, 1997, must complete 6 hours annually, 1 hour of which must be studies in ethics. Agents who renew after Tune, 1997, must complete 16 hours biennially including 1 hour of ethics. Remaining hours must be within lines of licensure. Nonresident agents who meet resident state continuing education requirements are exempt.
 
Oregon: Resident agents licensed 1 to 5 years must complete 24 hours annually; if licensed 6 or more years, complete 12 hours annually. CLU's only complete 12 hours per year. Agents should provide proof of completion each year by the last day of the month in which their license expires. Twenty-five percent of requirement must be within lines of licensure. Nonresident agents are exempt.
 
Pennsylvania: If licensed after March 2, 1995, agents must complete 48 hours every 2 years for the first 2 renewal cycles, 24 hours every 2 years thereafter. If licensed before March 2, 1995, 24 hours required every 2 years. Limited grandfathering is permitted. First compliance due in 1997.
 
Puerto Rico: Agents licensed less than 10 years must complete 18 hours annually; agents licensed 10 years, but less than 20 years must complete 12 hours annually; agents licensed 20 years, but less than 25 years must complete 6 hours annually; and agents licensed 25 years or more are exempt. Agents should provide proof of completion by June 30 of each year.
 
Rhode Island: Resident agents must complete 45 hours for every 3-year license period. Nonresident agents who meet a continuing education requirement in their resident state are exempt.
 
South Carolina: Agents must complete 24 hours biennially. Nonresident agents who meet a continuing education requirement in their resident state are exempt.
 
South Dakota: Resident agents must complete 10 hours every 2 years. Compliance due April 1 even-numbered years. Nonresident agents are exempt.
 
Tennessee: Effective January 1, 1997, agents must complete 12 hours annually. Nonresident agents are exempt if Tennessee has a reciprocal agreement with agent's home state.
 
Texas: Agents licensed 12-23 months complete 15 hours. Agents licensed 24 months or more complete 30 hours preceding 2-year license renewal. Nonresidents are exempt if Texas has a reciprocal agreement with agent's home state. Agents licensed 20 years or more are also exempt.
 
Utah: Resident agents must complete 12 hours every 2-year period, of which 6 hours must be classroom. Nonresident agents are exempt if Utah has a reciprocal agreement with agent's home state.
 
Virginia: Residents and nonresident agents holding one license must complete 16 hours; if 2 or more licenses are held, 24 hours. This biennial requirement includes 8 hours of study relating to agent's license type and 2 hours of study in insurance laws. Company-sponsored programs limited to 75% of requirement. Compliance is due December 31, 1996.
 
Washington: Resident agents must complete 12-32 hours depending on license renewal. After July 1, 1996, 32 hours are required every 2 years. Nonresidents are exempt.
 
West Virginia: Resident agents must complete 24 hours biennially. Nonresident agents are exempt.
 
Wisconsin: Twelve classroom hours are due by February 15, 1997, for first compliance. Thereafter, 24 hours are due by February 15, every odd-numbered year. Nonresident agents are exempt.
 
Wyoming: Resident and nonresident agents must complete 10 hours of study by December 31 of each year. Nonresident agents who are in compliance with their home state CE requirement are exempt.
 
CLU/PACE: Agents must complete 60 credit hours every two years.
 
CFP: Candidates who have completed 2 of the 4 certification requirements must complete 15 hours every year until final CFP certification is completed. CFP licensees must fulfill 30 hours of continuing education credit every two years.

Reciprocal Agreements: If you hold a nonresident license you may be exemptfrom meeting CE requirements in that state Contact the Department of Insurance in the nonresident state to check your individual requirements.

Agents who hold a bachelor's degree with a major in insurance are required to complete fewer hours. Contact AAA or the Department of Insurance for further information.


My Home | AAA Catalog | View Shopping Cart | Check Out
For more information, please do not hesitate to contact us...
Phone: 800-344-0335
Fax: 561-705-2843
Email: sales@aaalearning.com
Site administrators login here.